Bugis Food Haunts. Ah…Chew!

Hi Guys!

It’s been awhile since we’ve posted anything about food so I decided to share something I really love. Liang Seah St at Bugis is somewhere most Singaporeans have been to and is really famous for it’s affordable steamboat restaurants. However, there’s somewhere else I almost go to when I’m there. Have you guys heard of Ah Chew Desserts?

Ah Chew Desserts is, most of the time, jam packed with patrons. I love how the signboard and furnishings (and I always forget to snap a picture of signboards) are so nostalgic. Not in the retro cool way, but rosewood Chinese traditional furnishings way. The desserts, are also very traditional featuring Hashima, Sagos, Grass Jellies and Pastes. They do try to mix in modern touches to obviously try to catch up with the ever progressing country we live in. Example, a variety of flavoured ice creams to go with your sagos and creative fruit combinations in desserts.

Address

1 Liang Seah Street, #01-11 Liang Seah Place

Contact Number

+65 6339 8198

Opening Hours

Tue–Fri: 12.30pm – 11.30pm,
Sat–Sun: 1.30pm – 11.30pm
(Closed on Mon)

Here’s what my friends and I had, the last time we were there, which is more like the last time I was there and remembered taking pictures.

Only random picture I had that showed glimpses of the furnishing.

Mango and Pomelo Sago with Vanilla Ice Cream.

Yam Sago with Yam Ice Cream.

Sounds like an overkill but honestly, both times we had it, it was perfect since the sago itself isn’t overwhelmingly sweet.

Mango and Pomelo Sago w/o Ice Cream.

Peanut Paste with Glutinous Rice Balls.

*Note the similar colour scheme, I think my friend was having a…(phrases as well as possible) brown streak*

Watermelon and Honeydew Sago w/o Ice Cream.

I was reading up reviews on hungrygowhere.com about Ah Chew Desserts and I find it amusing that I have never had similarly bad experiences. The sagos were never too sweet, pastes never grainy and egg custards never too hard.  The worst I’ve gotten was pomelo that was a bit too bitter for my taste (but fine to my friends) and I know for a fact that sometimes the mango can be sour, so I go in fully prepared.

-shrugs-

Anyway, I’ve also had Fresh Milk Steamed Egg (♥!) and Almond Paste of which my favourite is Fresh Milk Steamed Egg. Sometimes I wish it was served in a bigger portion, WAY bigger. If you haven’t had desserts at Ah Chew, give it a shot if you like traditional desserts!

xoxo, Emily

2 responses to “Bugis Food Haunts. Ah…Chew!

  1. I recently found your site and now have been reading through together. I think I really could keep my personal initially remark. I’m not sure things know about mention apart from I’ve liked scaning whatever you all need to declare

  2. After i internet site owner It’s my opinion the content subject we have found rattling brilliant , be thankful in your diligence. Make sure you keep it up for good! Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

