7 Days Transitional Nail Art

Hi Guys!

I read a lot of nail magazines because I was previously a nail technician and one of the articles I really enjoy is where they have different nail art from the first to the last day of the week. These articles are incredibly inspiring and enjoyable to read/look at but they may be a little complicating and time consuming for average girls to emulate. So I did my own take on transitional nails to share with you girls. Here are the 6 different looks for 6 days of the week (instead of 7) because I prefer to remove all lacquer and embellishments on the last day and groom them (cut, file, trim the cuticles etc) instead.

P.S Just to debunk the myth that nails are living and needs to breath and such nonsense. Nails don’t actually breath nor are they living organisms. Keratin is essentially ‘bone’ that grows outwards to protect our fingertips. The only ‘living’ part is the matrix which is located above the cuticle area under your actual skin and the sole function of the matrix is to produce what we know as nails, to protect our fingertips.

DAY ONE

I used 2 coats of OPI’s Bubble Bath (NLS86) with a base and top coat for a simple and neat look for the ‘start of the week’.

DAY TWO

Sorry the nails in this image are kinda hard to see, but I added on 2 pearls on top of each nail, along the cuticle for a classier look. TIP: Just put on another layer of top coat and add on pearls, diamonds or any type of embellishments you want. The 2nd layer of top coat helps to enhance and ‘restore’ the colour and shine of your base colour too.

DAY THREE

I removed the pearls with tweezers and acetone (very very gently) and applied Estessimo TiNS Paris 2011 Collection’s Madame Élégance (704). Next, I used a little nail glue and attached handmade lace ribbons on alternate fingers, also along the cuticle for a sweet look. I’ve an obsession with nail art concentrated along the cuticle, I don’t know why. Do you girls have the same thing?

DAY FOUR

I left the lace ribbons on for another day and used nail glue to arrange individual silver bullion beads in a polka dot pattern before topping it off with another layer of top coat. This is my favourite look probably because it’s the ‘cutest’ set of the week.

DAY FIVE

Time to tone down the embellishments and opt for a simpler look. I removed all the bullion beads and ribbons with tweezers and applied another coat of Madame Élégance. Next, I used a dotting pen and the white polish from The Original French Manicure® by ORLYto create polka dots on alternate halves of each nail. I really like this look for casual Friday’s at the office!

DAY SIX

For the weekend, I chose a completely different and fun nail art. Remember, at this point, I have not removed any of my previous colours. What I did was to apply The Original French Manicure® by ORLY’s white on alternate nails and OPI’s Short Story (NLB 86). Next, I reused my dotting pen to create contrasting polka dots on each nail with both of the colours I had selected.

<Break On Day Seven!>

The transitions I did are very easy to adjust from day to day and there are a lot of different colours and combinations you could try. It really depends on what your individual style is or what type of look you want to achieve. If you are wondering if the multiple layers of polish feels ‘thick’ or ‘heavy’, the answer is no. Unless you spill polish and top coat around your cuticle and under your nails everyday without cleaning it up, your nails don’t actually feel anything.

Btw, I also tinkered around with my not-touched-for-centuries acrylic kit and made the lace ribbons I used for days 3 and 4. Here’s how I did it in case you were curious.

P.S I’m using the Charisma system I had bought while studying in nail school but the only place I know of that retails the brand in Singapore is my school. I highly recommend using any system you can find instead since it doesn’t make a difference at all.

Anyway, the pictures are pretty self explanatory if you have worked with acrylics before but here’s the details in case you haven’t.

Step 1) Dispense liquid monomer into your dappen dish, about half to 3/4 will do. Wet the lace mould with liquid monomer.

Step 2) Wet your brush with the liquid monomer and remove excess liquids by lightly brushing along the edge of your dappen dish. This is important because you want to control the size and liquidity of the acrylic ball you pick up. Dab the wet brush on the surface of your polymer container, hold and lift to create an acrylic ball. You might want to practice a couple of times to get a good sized ball. We’re looking for a ball of half a pea size and a more runny consistency.

Step 3) Apply the ball evenly on the mould, you might need to touch up and ensure the lace mould does not have any gaps.

Step 4) Use a toothpick or card to scrap along the mould to remove excess acrylic and any spillage that might affect the shape of your lace.

Step 5) Let the lace dry for 3-5 minutes in the mould and very gently peel it off. Next, form a circle with the lace strip with both ends slightly overlapping. Pinch in the center with a pair of tweezers and hold for a few minutes until it sets.

Step 6) Repeat the steps with a thinner piece of lace. Wrap the smaller lace strip around the center of the bow you created and cut of any excess. Pinch with tweezers until the acrylic sets.

I know it looks like a lot of steps but it takes more words and time to explain the process than actually making the ribbon. It’s honestly a very simple 3D nail piece to make since we are using a mould. Also, if any of you are working in an office, the nail art I chose to use are all office-friendly. For the uninitiated, they are all on natural nails and are not gaudy, cluttered nor distracting, which is the main reason why nail art has a love/hate relationship with OLs (Office Ladies). Add a touch of personality to your nails, I know plain colours and basic french/gradient extensions get boring too. Hope this article has helped some of you girls!

Share the love!

Emily

2 responses to “7 Days Transitional Nail Art

  1. Pingback: Opi Avoplex Nail and Cuticle Replenishing Oil, 0.5-Fluid Ounce Reviews | Nails Salons·

Leave a Reply

